Offshore Installation

Project name: HEWIS — High Efficient Wind Farm Installation System

Offshore wind energy will play a key role in the energy turnaround. Ever since the launch of “alpha ventus,” the first German wind farm with 60 MW, in 2010, more and more wind farms have been put into operation. By the end of 2016, these farms reached a cumulative capacity of 3.900 MW. The German Renewable Energy Act (EEG) determines an expansion of capacity up to 15.000 MW by the year 2030.

Due to the constant rise of system performance, larger water depths, and an increasing distance to the coastline, traditional installation procedures are stretched to their very limits — especially in the area of the foundations. In cooperation with its partners MARIN, Naue and Hochschule Emden/Leer, abh INGENIEUR-TECHNIK GmbH initiated the project “HEWIS — High Efficient Wind Farm Installation System,” a MariGreen subproject as part of the Interreg Europe research programme.

The system’s main purposes are the installation of floating platforms, a high availability of components in the wind farm, and the integration of scour protection into the construction process. Scour protection is built from geotextile sand containers. It is guided over the erected foundation pile by use of a lift and pole braces, and then lowered to the bottom of the sea. An international patent application for the scour protection system has already been filed.

Offshore Installation

Projektname: HEWIS – High Efficient Wind Farm Installation System

Der Offshore-Windenergie wird im Rahmen der Energiewende eine bedeutende Rolle zugeschrieben. Seit der Inbetriebnahme des ersten deutschen Windparks „alpha ventus“ im Jahr 2010 mit 60 MW erfolgte ein rascher Zubau von Windparks mit einer in Betrieb befindlichen kumulierten Leistung von 3.900 MW Ende 2016. Der im EEG festgelegte Ausbaupfad bis 2030 beläuft sich auf eine Leistung von 15.000 MW.

Die stetig zunehmende Anlagenleistung, größere Wassertiefen und Entfernungen von der Küstenlinie, lassen die etablierten Installationsabläufe insbesondere im Fundamentbereich an ihre Grenzen stoßen. Als Projektinitiator bearbeitet die abh INGENIEUR-TECHNIK GmbH gemeinsam mit den Partnern MARIN, Naue und der Hochschule Emden-Leer das Projekt “HEWIS – High Effecient Wind Farm Installation System” ein MariGreen Teilprojekt im Rahmen des EU-INTERREG Forschungsprogrammes.

Das System ist auf die Fundamentinstallation mit dem Ziel fokussiert, Fundamentkomponenten schwimmend zu installieren, eine hohe Bauteilverfügbarkeit im Windpark zu gewährleisten und das Gewerk Kolkschutz in den Bauablauf zu integrieren. Der Kolkschutz wird aus geotextilen Sandcontainern aufgebaut und mittels einer Traverse mit einem Lift komplett über den zuvor installierten Fundamentpfahl geführt und auf dem Meeresboden abgesenkt. Für das Kolkschutzsystem wurde eine internationale Patentanmeldung hinterlegt.